Skip to content
4. January 2007 / Bernhard

New! Year 2007, NIB

I shot a roll of film in 2 weeks. Very nice. Obviously, I’m not a big fan of the Nikon FA and sticking to a single lens, the AF 50/1,8. I learned that the MF 50/1,8 has fungus. Nice.

Anywho.

001278.jpg
Christmas-shopping. Lost.

001295.jpg
Christmas-spirit. 1/30 – SLRs are nice.

001292.jpg
Food. Best thing about Christmas.

001299.jpg
Streetphotography with a SLR is very cute. So I stick to shooting people I know.

001310.jpg
Christmas spirit even at the pub. Nice.

001313.jpg
Oh really?

And now the cool stuff – color. Scanning color is horrible, especially when you have the nice Canon Canoscan 8400F. I find printing color not too difficult, so anyone out there who thought about doing it: Give it a try! I’m using a Tetenal kit (dev, stop, bleach) and the chemicals are as easy to handle as normal B/W. I lack of compariosn but I find the colors I get much better than what I’m used from digital prints. Again, scanning film is pointless – it’s not even close to what is possible with film. And honestly, I somewhat regret that I haven’t shot more color film so far… Enough of blabhalblhabh…

070101_caro.jpg
So this was one of my first prints from Fuji NPS160 that I was somewhat happy with. Sorry for the very poor scan but I already gave the print away. Skintones are very nice but most of all, I like how the eyes shine.

070701_sophie.jpg
Again, Fuji NPS160.

070102_port_blah.jpg
Fuji Pro400H. I have no idea why the scan is so soft and lacking of sharpness.

061229_cool_kid.jpg
Actually, the next few shots have some nice well-saturated colors. Good scan. I’m never cynical. Never. Well done, Canon. You can.

061229_kid.jpg061229_meh.jpg
061229_girl.jpg
Peruvian kids. I’m not finished with the series – I have some more. Glad I took those with color film.

070103_nati.jpg
Some might know this shot from my Deviantart gallery. Reala is brilliant. The printscan looks so dull, compared to the actual print.

070103_prater.jpg
Vienna in October. Some days before I left for Peru. Print is slightly over-exposed. Whatever. Don’t feel like re-printing.

Heh, can’t wait to start shooting again. So tired of the holiday and all that shit. Can’t wait to get my glass back from service. Can’t wait for quite a few things.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Suzan / Jan 4 2007 15:14

    +fav.

  2. cougarr / Jan 4 2007 17:57

    Can you give her my number? can you tell her that i’m uber cuty uber sexy and a lot of other uber things?

    Still, i dont know what uber means, but it looks like something cool..

  3. Scott / Jan 4 2007 21:00

    I love the peru series.. cant wait to see more

  4. Scott / Jan 4 2007 23:17

    oh, btw.. i just ordered a MF 50mm 1,8

    but i might not need it.. If you want, i can probably part with it.

    im using a 35-70mm AF 2.8D

    its really good, nice and sharp..

    the lens hasnt arrived yet (the 50).. but im going to use it for a week, then sell it if it doesnt make too much difference

  5. Aaron / Jan 5 2007 15:44


    der blick ist ja wohl der hammer


    gefällt mir auch sehr gut

    @cougarr
    if uber comes from the german word über, it means over,… ( http://dict.leo.org/ende?lp=ende&lang=en&searchLoc=0&cmpType=relaxed&sectHdr=on&spellToler=on&search=%FCber&relink=on )

  6. James / Jan 6 2007 00:46

    Loving the Peru shots. Want to see more!

  7. spanishjohnny / Jan 8 2007 01:54

    cool, dann weiß ich das ich umbedingt n canon brauche :)
    street slr sieht übrigens gut aus… brachst keine leica mehr :P

  8. Fergus / Jan 8 2007 22:16

    Dude a lot of these are looking quite underexposed? Are these print scans or neg scans?

    Nice colour at the end there, man i wish Sydney had a proper Autumn!

Leave a Reply

